“I’m proud of you”

I would do a lot and go to high extents to hear those words. I never think I’m good enough. So, when I hear those words I just melt. It’s like “I finally made you proud? I’m good enough? Damn. I actually did something worth while, worthy, and important.” When I disappoint someone, which is the opposite of making someone proud of course, it honestly brings tears to my eyes. I don’t know why. I’m a people pleaser and I’m sensitive, that’s probably why. Redemption at that point becomes a goal. It becomes a mission. I need to show whomever I have disappointed that I can do better and I can make them proud of me; that I’m good enough and strong enough. So those words… they mean a lot to me. I cherish the sound of those words directed towards me. It’s amazing to know that I can make someone proud.

Leave a Reply

