I Need You to Understand.

I love you. More than anything. Do you understand that? And understand that because I love you I value and respect every single one of your thoughts, opinion, ideas, etc. And I’m sure you’ve noticed that you can be a little… harsh, and even condescending sometimes.

But what I need you to understand is that it hurts my feelings. Plus it makes you seem like an arrogant ass hole.

When I tell you things it’s because you’re up there in the top 5 most important people in my life and I want to share every momentous occasion or piece of wonderful news with you in hopes that you’ll understand my joy and be happy with me. Hell, I’ll even tell you the bad things. I’ll tell you the sad things. I’ll rant to you. I’ll even puke mushy-gush love crap on you sometimes (no matter how many times I say I’m not emotional, let’s be real, I’m a 16 year old female in a relationship with my first love. It’s bound to happen).

You are my boyfriend. You are the one I tell everything to (unless I’m complaining about you). So I need you to understand the things that are important to me. I don’t need you to like them. We are almost two completely different people and I kind of like that. Same is boring. But even though I don’t want you to like them, I want you to see that they make me happy and that you can’t just verbally bash and criticize the things that make me who I am.

Sure, tell me that you don’t agree with me or like what I do or listen to or enjoy, but don’t start saying things like “What the fuck? You like that shit? Oh my gosh it’s so stupid and lame and my shit is the shit”. Oh yeah. Very supportive. Very loving.

Not everything I do is wrong or asinine, and not everything you do is right or sensible. I just need you to understand.

I know it’s not the most loved song, but I found it kind of fitting. Also, I love Sam Smith ❤

Leave a comment